Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9
Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.
Dates:
1909-1966
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Alonzo Frenger Diary and Account Book
Collection
Identifier: SC 00659
Scope and Contents
Diary and account book, 1876-1879 of John Alonzo Frenger of Staunton, Augusta County, Virginia. The accounts are for farming and household expenses and the diary entries describe farming, trips to town, social visits, health, family life, church related events and also comment on economic developments and political events. Also included is a 1881 clipping from the Alleghany Tribune, that shows that a relative of John Alonzo Frenger, W.H.H. Frenger was editor and proprietor at...
Dates:
1876-1879
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1745-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Amos Koontz Papers I
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 K83
Scope and Contents
The collection consists mainly of certificates presented to Amos R. Koontz, M.D., by the army, together with his medals in a frame, and membership certificates in organizations. Included is a competition for designs for National Military Dress (1809); and shoemaker’s account books of Harden Keyser (1849-1861), one of which Mattie Keyser used as a scrapbook at a later period and in which she wrote autograph poems; a souvenir booklet of the Panama Pacific Exposition (1915); and genealogical...
Dates:
1809-1965; Majority of material found in 1936-1965
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Stephen P. Middleton Letter Book and Diary
Collection
Identifier: MS 00018
Scope and Contents
Acc. 2009.492: Volume of copies of outgoing correspondence of Stephen P. Middleton of Norristown, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania for the years 1886-1892. The front cover is labeled 'Copy 1886-1892' and the first page is titled "Time Account of Stephen P. Middleton of Norristown, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, wrote October 18th, 1886." The first 3 pages were begun in 1880-1881 as an account of time worked and earnings, but starting on page 4 the author copied his outgoing...
Dates:
1880-1881, 1886-1893
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas E. Pugh Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents
The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material. Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940. He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944. His first...
Dates:
1914-2001; Majority of material found in 1941-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Rembert Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00019
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of approximately 1,400 total items including approximately 550 letters from 1944 to 1955 between John Patrick Rembert and his wife Sarafan, as well as other correspondence regarding homelife and the military and World War II. Also included in this collection are photo albums and loose photographs, including many portraits of John Patrick Rembert and Sarafan Rembert, relatives of the Remberts, friends and family and the Rembert's travels. There are several 8x10...
Dates:
circa 1885-1965; Majority of material found in 1910-1955
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Renick Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.350
Content Description
The Renick Family papers include farm account books, newspaper clippings, obituaries, genealogical materials, photographs, correspondence, and artificats documenting the lives of the Renick Family. Family members documented include Dewey Campbell Renick, Fern Cooley Renick, Jean Renick, and Dewey C. Renick Jr. The farm account book, circa 1942-1962, includes accounts of Kings Mill Farm (Thomas M. Brooks), Carter’s Grove Farm, Evelynton Plantation, Kings Mill Dairy Farm (operated...
Dates:
Circa 1900-2007
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Warner Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.251
Scope and Contents
Diaries, accounts and address book of Anna P. (Anne) Warner (b. 1876) of Washington D.C. and Rebecca P. (Bess) Warner, sisters of Washington, D.C. The sisters came from a well-off family and traveled extensively in Europe. They remained single and shared an apartment. It has not been determined if one of the two 1899 diaries and the address book were kept by one of the sisters or by another family member. Most of the diaries contain detailed entries on their travels abroad,...
Dates:
1899-1929
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center